Freezer Meal Group

I  mentioned in a previous post that I have a freezer meal group so I thought I would do a post on how it works. I got the idea from Freezer Friends blog. I currently have a total of 3 people in our group which is fine with me since this is my first attempt at a freezer group. This is basically how it works:

  1. We make three (since that is the total number in our group) of the same thing
  2. The dish is only the main component of the meal plus anything that is required to make it a main dish. An example would be a box of uncooked pasta and homemade spaghetti with meatballs.
  3. Each person gets a specific category so there are no duplicates (categories are chicken no pasta, chicken with pasta, beef no pasta, beef with pasta, soups-stews-chili’s, other.) The categories are alternated each month.
  4. We meet once a month on the 2nd Tuesday every month at 7pm at the same location. So there is no confusion on when we meet.
  5. Each person brings a cooler to put the meals they will bringing home.
  6. Lastly, we swap.

It is super easy to organize. I do keep a running spreadsheet on who has done what so that I can keep track on who has cooked what category so that I know what to alternate. Other than that I send out a reminder email. It’s that simple plus you get some yummy meals that are in your freezer. It will give you at least one day off a week from cooking a whole meal start to finish.

If you have any questions feel free to ask. I have links and a more detailed explanation that I can pass on to those interested.

Leave a Reply

